← Back to institutions

Public institution profile · Bank · Not a recommendation

Salem Five Cents Savings Bank

BankSalem, MAActive

FDIC certificate 23296

Data observedAugust 5, 2026Section records may have different source dates.

Identifiers, verification, and corrections

Stable identifiers

Publication-authorized verified identifiers only. Missing applicable identifiers are shown as unpublished verified matches, not as a finding that no record exists.

FDIC certificate
23296
company ID
Not published — no verified match
More identifiers
Federal Reserve
618807
OCC charter number
Not published — no verified match
Not published — no verified match
Official website
http://www.salemfive.com

Identity verified through FDIC; additional sources pendingVerification describes the U.S. Mortgage Index public-source matching process. It is not an endorsement or recommendation. Read the methodology

Profile notes

This is a descriptive public-record research profile. It is not a recommendation, eligibility decision, product assessment, or rate quote.

Data correction

Institutions or readers may request review when a published field differs from an official source. Provide the relevant official source URL with the request.

Request a correction

At a glance

Institution type
Bank
Status
Active
Headquarters
Salem, MA
HMDA activity
Published activity year 2025
Listed branch locations
33
Complaint records
CFPB search status is not currently available.
CRA examinations
Satisfactory, exam June 1, 2024
Institution history
4 published events

What USMI publishes

Public records USMI has matched to this institution. The sections below keep the evidence, the source, and that section's date together.

Institution type
Bank
Status
Active
Headquarters
Salem, MA
activity
Published activity year 2025
Listed branch locations
33
Complaint records
CFPB search status is not currently available.
CRA examinations
Satisfactory, exam June 1, 2024
Institution history
4 published events

What this profile is not

  • Not a lender recommendation or ranking.
  • Not a mortgage rate sheet or quote.
  • Not an underwriting, approval, or eligibility decision.
  • Not proof of an NMLS license unless a verified NMLS company ID/source is specifically published.
  • Not a complaint-resolution channel.
  • Missing source blocks do not establish that an institution lacks an activity, identifier, license or regulatory record.

HMDA

Mortgage activity

Reported records for the selected year. These figures are not a lender score.

2,239reported records

979reported originations

2025 reported mortgage activity. Source: HMDA.

HMDA2025The year selector below shows each published activity year.

Ask about this activity

activity

Mortgage activity reported in HMDA. Public HMDA records are available for 2018–2025.

Geographynationwide

HMDA source observed2026-08-09

HMDA records

2,239

2025

Loan originations

979

2025

Denials

225

2025

Withdrawals

101

2025

Denial rate among decisioned applications

18.0%

2025

Annual history

Scroll sideways to review every HMDA column.

Annual HMDA activity history
YearHMDA recordsOriginationsApproved but not acceptedDenialsWithdrawalsDenial rate
20252,2399794922510118.0%
20242,1118346923611120.7%
20231,9547194522311122.6%
20222,3959594118513015.6%
20212,4011,00966991338.4%
20201,898683661055312.3%
20191,798664462114722.9%
20181,536665592224923.5%

Detailed activity

Loan type and purpose

Loan type and purpose breakdown for 2025
CategoryHMDA records
Conventional2,239
FHA0
VA0
RHS / FSA0
Home purchase699
Home improvement499
Refinancing557
Cash-out refinancing15

State reporting

5 states / territories reported

How to read these figures

HMDA records include applications, originations, purchased loans and other reportable actions. The total number of HMDA records is not the same as the number of mortgages originated. The displayed denial rate uses decisioned applications: originations, approved but not accepted, and denials.

CFPB

CFPB consumer submissions

Complaints are consumer submissions and are not findings of wrongdoing.

CFPBComplaint coverage dates are shown with the records. They are not the profile observed date.

Ask about these complaints

CFPB Mortgage Complaint Activity

No published complaint result found

No mapped CFPB mortgage complaint activity is currently published on this profile under U.S. Mortgage Index's verified entity-matching methodology. This is not a finding that no complaint exists under another company name, affiliate, source attribution, period, or configuration.

This does not establish that no record exists elsewhere. It means USMI does not currently have a published matching result for this profile.

CFPB complaint records are submissions received by the Consumer Financial Protection Bureau.

Complaint volume is context. It is affected by company size, servicing volume, time in market and consumer awareness. It is not proof of wrongdoing.

Current USMI CFPB mortgage complaint coverage begins December 1, 2012. Data through August 20, 2026.

Regulatory records

Regulatory & institutional records

Only records that apply to this institution are shown. Identifiers stay as published.

FFIEC NICAugust 19, 2026Observed date for the NIC institution record.

Ask about this regulatory record

Institution identity

FDIC BankFind baseline

FDIC-reported identity and institutional fields from the public BankFind record. These values are not described as current or real-time.

Legal name
Salem Five Cents Savings Bank
Display name
Salem Five Cents Savings Bank
Institution status
Active
FDIC insured
Yes
FDIC insured since
January 2, 1981
Established date
March 9, 1855
Charter class
State-chartered commercial bank, not a member of the Federal Reserve System (FRS)
Primary federal regulator
Federal Deposit Insurance Corporation
Headquarters
Salem, MA, 01970, United States
FDIC certificate number
23296
Federal Reserve
618807
Domestic location count
34
Source observed
August 5, 2026

Regulatory information

Regulatory profile

Public FFIEC NIC and CRA records for this institution, presented as source-backed regulatory context rather than a score or recommendation.

Regulatory identity

Institution status
ACTIVE
Primary federal regulator
FDIC
Institution type
Non-member Bank
Primary activity
NAICS 52211
FDIC certificate
23296
Federal Reserve
618807
5493006NTCY0P06JR884
Headquarters
210 Essex Street, Salem, MA, 01970, United States
Primary deposit insurer
Deposit Insurance Fund (DIF)
Source observed
August 19, 2026

Community Reinvestment Act (CRA)

Latest available CRA evaluation

Rating
Satisfactory
Exam date
June 1, 2024
Regulator
FDIC
Examination method
Large Bank Exam

This information reflects Community Reinvestment Act examination ratings reported by the cited official source. It is not a US Mortgage Index rating, recommendation, or assessment of the institution.

CRA evaluations are examination results from the relevant regulatory process and should be interpreted in the context of the examination date and source.

Historical CRA evaluations

Scroll sideways to see every CRA examination column.

Historical CRA evaluations
Exam dateCRA ratingRegulatorExamination method
June 1, 2024SatisfactoryFDICLarge Bank Exam
March 1, 2021SatisfactoryFDICLarge Bank Exam
March 1, 2018SatisfactoryFDICLarge Bank Exam
August 1, 2013SatisfactoryFDICLarge Bank Exam
September 1, 2010SatisfactoryFDICLarge Bank Exam
July 1, 2007SatisfactoryFDICLarge Bank Exam
June 1, 2004SatisfactoryFDICLarge Bank Exam
March 1, 2001SatisfactoryFDICLarge Bank Exam
April 1, 1998SatisfactoryFDICLarge Bank Exam
February 1, 1995OutstandingFDICNot Reported
July 1, 1992OutstandingFDICNot Reported

Formal hierarchy

FFIEC NIC hierarchy rows

12

Showing 1 through 12 of 12 relationship records

FFIEC NIC organizational relationships
RelationshipInstitutionTypeLocation
Direct relationshipCEDAR HILLS, LLCDomestic Entity OtherSalem, MA
Direct relationshipCOURT STREET LLCDomestic Entity OtherSalem, MA
Direct relationshipSALEM FIVE AFC HOLDINGS, LLCDomestic Entity OtherSalem, MA
Direct relationshipSALEM FIVE INSURANCE HOLDINGS, LLCDomestic Entity OtherSalem, MA
Direct relationshipSALEM FIVE INVESTMENT SERVICES LLCDomestic Entity OtherSalem, MA
Direct relationshipSALEM FIVE MORTGAGE COMPANY LLCDomestic Entity OtherSalem, MA
Direct relationshipSALEM GREEN REALTY COMAPNY, LLCDomestic Entity OtherSalem, MA
Direct relationshipSALEM INVESTMENT CORPORATION IDomestic Entity OtherSalem, MA
Direct relationshipSALEM INVESTMENT CORPORATION IIDomestic Entity OtherSalem, MA
Direct relationshipSALEM INVESTMENT CORPORATION IIIDomestic Entity OtherSalem, MA
Direct relationshipSUBSGRC, LLCDomestic Entity OtherSalem, MA
ROOT_INSTITUTIONSALEM FIVE CENTS SAVINGS BANKNon-member BankSalem, MA

These rows are the FFIEC NIC formal hierarchy. They are not branch locations and they are not the separate institution-relationship records.

FFIEC NIC information reflects public regulatory records observed on the displayed source date. Observed dates describe when the public record was reviewed, not a real-time update.

Additional profile fields

Fields below supplement the primary source baseline and are shown only when present on the public profile.

Entity type
FDIC-insured state-chartered nonmember bank

Locations

Branch and office locations

Start with the published count and primary location. Search stays paged so the first view stays readable.

FFIEC NIC branchesAugust 19, 2026Branch rows are paged. Filters stay in the page address.

Ask about these locations

Branch locations

Listed locations from FFIEC NIC. Counts use the published branch record, not a store locator.

Branch network

Listed locations

33

Showing 1 through 33 of 33 listed locations

Scroll sideways to see every branch column.

Showing 1 through 33 of 33 FFIEC NIC branch locations
BranchAddressCityStatePostal code
BEDFORD BRANCH285 Great RoadBedfordMA01730
BEVERLY DEPOT140 Rantoul StreetBeverlyMA01915
CABOT CROSSING BRANCH495 Cabot StreetBeverlyMA01915
WEST STREET BRANCH19 West StreetBeverlyMA01915
CENTER PLAZA BRANCH1 Center PlazaBostonMA02108
CAMBRIDGE STREET BRANCH36 Cambridge StreetBurlingtonMA01803
ENDICOTT PLAZA BRANCH160 Endicott STDanversMA01923
HIGH STREET BRANCH85 High StreetDanversMA01923
GEORGETOWN HEAD OFFICE BRANCH2 East Main StreetGeorgetownMA01833
ROGERS STREET BRANCH691 Rogers StreetLowellMA01852
BOSTON STREET BRANCH35 Boston StreetLynnMA01904
HIGHLAND AVENUE BRANCH90 Highland AvenueMaldenMA02148
PLEASANT STREET BRANCH89 Pleasant StreetMarbleheadMA01945
SOUTH MAIN STREET BRANCH221 South Main StreetMiddletonMA01949
NEEDHAM BRANCH355 Chestnut StreetNeedhamMA02492
NORTH ANDOVER BRANCH601 Chickering RoadNorth AndoverMA01845
NORTH ANDOVER BRANCH562A Turnpike StreetNorth AndoverMA01845
BILLERICA BRANCH188 Boston RoadNorth BillericaMA01862
PEABODY SQUARE1 Main Street Unit BPeabodyMA01960
SOUTH PEABODY91 Lynnfield StreetPeabodyMA01960
WALKERS BROOK DRIVE BRANCH8 Walkers Brook DriveReadingMA01867
ROWLEY BRANCH303 Haverhill StreetRowleyMA01969
HERITAGE MAIN OFFICE71 Washington StreetSalemMA01970
HIGHLAND AVENUE BRANCH424 Essex STSalemMA01970
HILLTOP SAUGUS BRANCHRoute One South, 855 BroadwaySaugusMA01906
HAMILTON OFFICE2 Bay RDSouth HamiltonMA01982
MAIN STREET BRANCH88 Main STStonehamMA02180
STONEHAM MAIN OFFICE359 Main StreetStonehamMA02180
SUDBURY BRANCH19 Concord RoadSudburyMA01776
SWAMPSCOTT BRANCH450 Paradise RDSwampscottMA01907
MAIN STREET BRANCH2171 Main StreetTewksburyMA01876
WILMINGTON BRANCH281 Main Street, Unit #2WilmingtonMA01887
WOBURN BRANCH443 Main StreetWoburnMA01801

FFIEC NIC information reflects public regulatory records observed on the displayed source date. Observed dates describe when the public record was reviewed, not a real-time update.

History

Institution history

Events are listed by date. The source event type is kept with the record.

HistoryAugust 19, 2026Event dates come from the source row. The observed date is when USMI reviewed the file.

Ask about this history

Institution history

History events from FFIEC NIC, newest first. USMI does not add a merger or failure narrative.

Institutional history

FFIEC NIC history events

4

Showing 1 through 4 of 4 history events

FFIEC NIC institutional history events
Event dateEvent typeRelated institution
August 18, 2018Charter Discontinued (Merger or Purchase & Assumption)—
May 24, 2017Charter Discontinued (Merger or Purchase & Assumption)—
November 24, 2013Charter Discontinued (Merger or Purchase & Assumption)—
February 11, 2006Charter Discontinued (Merger or Purchase & Assumption)—

These events are shown as reported by the FFIEC NIC source and are not independent legal conclusions.

FFIEC NIC information reflects public regulatory records observed on the displayed source date. Observed dates describe when the public record was reviewed, not a real-time update.

SourcesEach source keeps its own observed date. Dates are not combined into one profile date.

Ask about these sources

Sources & methodology

Sources are shown as recorded in the published public views. Observed dates describe when a public record was reviewed, not a real-time update.

CFPB Consumer Complaint Database search

Consumer Financial Protection Bureau

Source reviewed2026-08-05

Limitation

Complaint records are consumer submissions. A complaint is not proof of wrongdoing, and absence from this profile is not proof that no complaint exists elsewhere.

Methodology

HMDA modified LAR

Consumer Financial Protection Bureau

Source reviewed2026-08-05

Limitation

HMDA counts describe reported records for the published geography and year. They are not a quality score or a market-rank.

Methodology

Cite this profile

Related research pages